Diverse tradition

With its over 300 instruments, the vivid and colorful organ landscape of Hamburg is unique. Originally restored or reconstructed organs of the 16th and 17th centuries stand adjacent to the organs of the romantic period, silent film era, as well as the most memorable instruments from the time of German reconstruction between 1950 and 1970.


Live experience

365 days a year it is possible to encounter organ music of all epochs in Hamburg. In daily prayers, short concerts, guides, concert series and church services. Organ music and its performances are an essential part of the cultural life in Hanseatic city. The repertoire compasses from early music to the music of the 20th and 21st centuries. Not to overlook the art of inventing music on the spot, the improvisation, which tradition nowadays are still kept by jazz musicians and organists.


Impressive reconstructions

Since 1990 the organ landscape developed immensely on a high level through the uppermost quality and value of reconstruction and restoration: in Niendorf, Volksdorf, Altona, Blankenese, Othmarschen, Poppenbüttel, Bergstedt, Harvestehude, Langenhorn, Harburg and in major churches. One of the most modern achievements made in Elbphilharmonie and in a church in Stellingen displays once again the wide spectrum in its accomplishment, ranging from a concert hall organ to an organ in a city district. A huge willingness to donate for such projects demonstrates the unbroken fascination towards the organ in the society of this Hanseatic city. This makes Hamburg an organ city of particular reputation.


Organ building and world heritage

There had been organ builders for more than 500 years in this city. The most significant and representative organ building tradition of Northern Germany is that of Arp Schnitger, whose influence remains until today. Over one hundred organs passed through his workshops, thirty of them, which are preserved along the coastal landscape of North Sea. Two of his most important instruments are located in Hamburg, in St. Jacobi and in St. Pankratius Neuenfelde, restored true to its originals. The grave of Arp Schnitger is also found next to his workshop in the village of Neuenfelde in Hamburg. Even nowadays the organ building traditions are well preserved in Hamburg. And based on this alive tradition, the organ building society was nominated as a part of intangible world heritage in 2017.


Organisten with world reputation

Hamburg organists are world renowned. The masters of 16th and 17th Centuries, such as Matthias Weckmann, Heinrich Scheidemann or Johann Adam Reincken are the legendary figures of Hamburg in north German organ school. on the organs of St. Jacobi and St. Katharinen it is still possible to authentically perform, listen and learn these traditions.

Currently there are around 150 organists, who manage the music of this city. Many of them perform abroad internationally and are honored for their artistic achievements. And with the appointment of Elbphilharmonie’s titular organist Iveta Apkalna, the organ performance in 2018 received an additional publicity.

Furthermore, Hamburg is privileged to announce two of the most significant professors of the 20th and 21st century, Heinz Wunderlich and Wolfgang Zerer.


Composers on the organ

Tradition and Innovation converge in Hamburg: The great composers, for example Telemann, C.P.E. Bach, Mendelssohn and Brahms wrote works for the organ in this very city. Organists of the 20thcentury, such as Gerd Zacher and Sigmund Szathmary, made substantial contributions to the development of contemporary organ music starting from Hamburg.


Text: Hans-Jürgen Wulf

Orgel-Illustration: Thorsten Bauer


 

You agree to the usage of cookies when you continue using this site. Further information

Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen

Vielfältige Tradition

Die lebendige und bunte Hamburger Orgellandschaft mit ihren über 300 Instrumenten ist einzigartig. Originalgetreu restaurierte oder rekonstruierte Orgeln des 16. und 17. Jahrhunderts stehen neben Orgeln der Romantik und der Stummfilmzeit sowie ebenso denkmalwürdigen Instrumenten aus der Zeit des deutschen Wiederaufbaus zwischen 1950 und 1970.


Live erleben

365 Tage im Jahr kann man in Hamburg Orgelmusik aller Epochen live erleben. In täglichen Andachten, Kurzkonzerten, Führungen, in Konzertzyklen und Gottesdiensten. Orgelmusik und Orgelspiel sind so ein wesentlicher Teil des kulturellen Lebens der Hansestadt. Das Repertoire reicht von alter Musik bis zur Musik des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts. Nicht zu vergessen die Kunst des Erfindens von Musik aus dem Stegreif, die Improvisation, die heute fast nur noch Jazzer und Organisten pflegen.


Eindrucksvolle Neubauten

Seit 1990 hat sich die Orgellandschaft durch höchst individuelle und qualitativ hochwertige Neubauten und Restaurierungen auf hohem Niveau weiter entwickelt: in Niendorf, Volksdorf, Altona, Blankenese, Othmarschen, Poppenbüttel, Bergstedt, Harvestehude, Langenhorn, Harburg und den Hauptkirchen. Die jüngsten Orgelneubauten in der Elbphilharmonie und in der Kirche Stellingen verdeutlichen die ganze Bandbreite, vom Konzertsaal bis zur Stadtteilkirche. Große Spendenbereitschaft für solche Projekte zeigt die bis heute ungebrochene Faszination der Orgel in der Bürgergesellschaft der Hansestadt. Das macht Hamburg zu einer Orgelstadt von besonderer Bedeutung.


Orgelbau und Weltkulturerbe

Seit 500 Jahren gibt es Orgelbauer in der Stadt. Der bedeutendste Repräsentant der norddeutschen Orgelbautradition ist Arp Schnitger, dessen Wirken den Orgelbau bis heute prägt. Über einhundert Orgeln haben seine Werkstätten verlassen, dreißig sind in der Küstenlandschaft entlang der Nordsee erhalten. Zwei der bedeutendsten Instrumente stehen originalgetreu restauriert in Hamburg, in St. Jacobi und in St. Pankratius Neuenfelde. In dem Hamburger Dorf Neuenfelde befinden sich zudem der Werkstatthof Schnitgers sowie sein Grab. Bis heute sind Orgelbaubetriebe auf dem Boden dieser Tradition in Hamburg ansässig. Auf dieser lebendigen Überlieferung gründet sich die Aufnahme des Orgelbauhandwerks in das Immaterielle Weltkulturerbe im Jahr 2017.


Organisten mit Weltruf

Hamburger Organisten hatten und haben Weltruf. Die großen Namen des 16. und 17. Jahrhunderts, wie Matthias Weckmann, Heinrich Scheidemann oder Johann Adam Reincken, sind als norddeutsche Orgelschule Hamburger Musikgeschichte. An den Orgeln in St. Jacobi oder St. Katharinen kann man diese große Tradition immer noch authentisch spielen, hören und lernen.

Heute gibt es in der Stadt etwa 150 Organistinnen und Organisten, die die Musik vor Ort pflegen. Etliche konzertieren international und werden für ihre künstlerischen Leistungen geehrt. Mit der Berufung der Titularorganistin der Elbphilharmonie, Iveta Apkalna, hat das Orgelspiel 2018 zusätzliche öffentliche Aufmerksamkeit erfahren.

Zudem kann die Stadt mit den Hamburger Orgelprofessoren Heinz Wunderlich und Wolfgang Zerer zwei bedeutende Organistenmacher des 20. und 21.Jahrhunderts vorweisen.


Komponisten an der Orgel

Tradition und Innovation kommen in Hamburg zusammen: Die großen Komponisten Telemann, C.P.E. Bach, Mendelssohn und Brahms haben in der Stadt für die Orgel komponiert. Organisten des 20. Jahrhunderts, wie Gerd Zacher und Sigmund Szathmary, setzten von Hamburg aus wesentliche Impulse für die Entwicklung der zeitgenössischen Orgelmusik.


Text: Hans-Jürgen Wulf

Orgel-Illustration: Thorsten Bauer


 

Durch die weitere Nutzung der Seite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies und unseren Datenschutzbestimmungen zu. Weitere Informationen

Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen